| Post Name | CRP PO/MT-XVI |
| Vacancies | 7,565 (Revised) |
| Organization | Institute of Banking Personnel Selection |
| Qualification | Bachelor’s Degree |
| Apply Mode | Online |
| Apply Fee | ₹850 |
| Start Date | 1 July 2026 |
| Last Date | 26 July 2026 |
IBPS PO Recruitment 2026
The Institute of Banking Personnel Selection (IBPS) released the CRP PO/MT-XVI notification on 30 June 2026 for the recruitment of Probationary Officers and Management Trainees in Participating Public Sector Banks. The notification originally announced 6,715 vacancies, and candidates applied online from 1 July 2026 to 26 July 2026 through the official IBPS website.
Since then, IBPS has revised the vacancy count twice through corrigenda, taking the total to 7,565 posts. The online application process has closed, and the Preliminary Exam has already been conducted on 22 and 23 August 2026. Candidates who clear the Prelims will move on to the Main Exam on 4 October 2026, followed by a Personality Test and Interview.
If you already applied and are looking for your hall ticket, we have a separate, dedicated page for that. Go to the IBPS PO Admit Card page for download steps and exam day details.
IBPS PO Recruitment Details
Post Name: Probationary Officer (PO) / Management Trainee (MT)
Organization: Institute of Banking Personnel Selection (IBPS)
Recruitment Cycle: CRP PO/MT-XVI, 2026-27
Total Vacancies: 7,565 Posts
Qualification: Bachelor’s Degree in any discipline from a university recognised by the Government of India
Pay Scale: ₹48,480 – ₹85,920, with a gross monthly salary of roughly ₹76,000 once Dearness Allowance, House Rent Allowance, and other benefits are added
Revised Vacancies of IBPS PO Recruitment 2026
IBPS has revised the vacancy count for CRP PO/MT-XVI twice since the original notification. A corrigendum dated 20 July 2026 added 650 posts from Indian Bank, taking the total to 7,365. A second corrigendum dated 27 August 2026 added 200 posts from UCO Bank, taking the total to 7,565. Vacancies from Union Bank of India are still not reported, so the final count may increase further before the recruitment concludes.
| Bank | Vacancies |
|---|---|
| Bank of Baroda | 1,900 |
| Canara Bank | 1,500 |
| Bank of Maharashtra | 1,100 |
| Indian Bank | 650 |
| UCO Bank | 200 |
| Other Banks | Not Reported |
Note: The above bank-wise figures are indicative. Bank of India, Central Bank of India, Indian Overseas Bank, Punjab National Bank, Punjab & Sind Bank, and Union Bank of India have not reported their vacancies yet.
Eligibility Criteria of IBPS PO Recruitment 2026
Only candidates born between 2 July 1996 and 1 July 2006 (both dates included) fall within the 20 to 30 year age bracket for this recruitment. You can check your exact eligibility using the Age Calculator. Category-wise relaxation is available as shown below.
| Category | Age Relaxation |
|---|---|
| SC / ST | 5 years |
| OBC (Non-Creamy Layer) | 3 years |
| Persons with Benchmark Disabilities | 10 years |
| Ex-Servicemen | 5 years |
Note: IBPS issued a notice dated 7 August 2026 for PwBD category candidates, adding UDID and Aadhaar verification requirements along with the possibility of a medical reassessment. The credit history/CIBIL score requirement from earlier notifications continues to remain removed this year.
Participating Banks for IBPS PO 2026
Eleven public sector banks are taking part in this recruitment cycle. Candidates rank all of them in order of preference during the application process, and the final bank allotment depends on merit rank combined with this preference order.
| Bank of Baroda |
| Bank of India |
| Bank of Maharashtra |
| Canara Bank |
| Central Bank of India |
| Indian Bank |
| Indian Overseas Bank |
| Punjab National Bank |
| Punjab & Sind Bank |
| UCO Bank |
| Union Bank of India |
Selection Process of IBPS PO Recruitment 2026
The Preliminary Exam was a qualifying round with three sections and 100 questions for 100 marks, split into 20-minute sectional slots, held on 22 and 23 August 2026 across six shifts. Each wrong answer cost 0.25 marks, and candidates needed to clear both the sectional and overall cut-off to move ahead. Marks scored here are not counted toward the final merit list, and the result is currently awaited.
The Main Exam, scheduled for 4 October 2026, carries more weight this year. IBPS has revised the pattern to 170 questions for 200 marks in the objective paper, with marks shifted from Quantitative Aptitude to Reasoning Ability compared to previous cycles. A separate Descriptive Paper of 25 marks tests English writing through an essay and letter. Only candidates who clear the objective cut-off get their descriptive paper evaluated.
Candidates who qualify the Main Exam appear for a Personality Test followed by a face-to-face Interview worth 100 marks. The minimum qualifying mark is 40% for General category candidates and 35% for SC/ST/OBC/PwBD candidates. The final merit list combines Main Exam and Interview scores in an 80:20 ratio.
Application Fee of IBPS PO Recruitment 2026
| Category | Fee |
|---|---|
| General / OBC / EWS | ₹850 |
| SC / ST / PwBD | ₹175 |
The fee, once paid, was not refunded under any circumstances and could not be reserved for a future exam cycle. Payment was accepted online only, through debit card, credit card, net banking, or UPI.
How Candidates Applied for IBPS PO Recruitment 2026
The application window for CRP PO/MT-XVI has closed. For candidates’ reference, here is how the process worked this cycle.
| Registered on the IBPS PO application portal linked in the Important Links section below, using a valid name, mobile number, and email ID. |
| Noted down the registration number and password sent to their mobile and email, then logged back in to continue. |
| Uploaded scanned photograph, signature, left thumb impression, and handwritten declaration as per the specified size and format. |
| Filled in personal, educational, and category details, and selected the bank preference order. |
| Paid the application fee online and submitted the form. |
| Downloaded the confirmation page and saved a printout for future reference. |
A two-day correction window opened on 29 and 30 July 2026 for candidates who needed to edit submitted details, a provision introduced for the first time this cycle.
Important Dates of IBPS PO Recruitment 2026
| Notification Date | 30 June 2026 |
| Apply Start Date | 1 July 2026 |
| Apply Last Date | 26 July 2026 |
| Correction Window | 29 to 30 July 2026 |
| Prelims Admit Card | 14 August 2026 |
| Preliminary Exam | 22 and 23 August 2026 |
| Main Exam | 4 October 2026 |
| Personality Test | November 2026 |
| Interview | November-December 2026 |
| Final Provisional Allotment | January 2027 |
Important Links of IBPS PO Recruitment 2026
| Application Form | Click Here |
| Official Notification | Click Here |
| WhatsApp Channel | Click Here |
| Install Android App | Click Here |
| Official Website | Click Here |
Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)
How many vacancies are there in IBPS PO Recruitment 2026?
IBPS has revised the vacancy count twice since the original notification. The total now stands at 7,565 Probationary Officer/Management Trainee posts, up from the initial 6,715.
Why were the IBPS PO 2026 vacancies revised?
Indian Bank added 650 vacancies through a corrigendum dated 20 July 2026, and UCO Bank added 200 more through a corrigendum dated 27 August 2026, taking the total to 7,565. Union Bank of India has not reported its vacancies yet.
Is the IBPS PO 2026 application process still open?
No, the online application window closed on 26 July 2026. A correction window was available on 29 and 30 July 2026 for candidates to edit submitted details.
Has the IBPS PO 2026 Preliminary Exam been held?
Yes, the Preliminary Exam was conducted on 22 and 23 August 2026 across six shifts. The result is currently awaited.
When is the IBPS PO 2026 Main Exam?
The Main Exam is scheduled for 4 October 2026, followed by a Personality Test and Interview for candidates who qualify.
What is the age limit for IBPS PO 2026?
Candidates must be between 20 and 30 years old, born between 2 July 1996 and 1 July 2006. Age relaxation applies to SC/ST, OBC, PwBD, and Ex-Servicemen candidates as per government rules.
